AI bootcamp with a job guarantee: what the fine print says
In the terms we read, a job guarantee at an AI bootcamp is a refund with conditions. Here is what TripleTen, 365 Data Science, Springboard, 4Geeks and Metana put in writing, and what to ask before you pay.
Best AI Bootcamps editorial teamPublished · Updated · 9 minute read
- Advisory
- BAB-2026-001
- Summary
- Our top pick: Torchlane's AI FDE training, for readers who would rather judge a program on assessed work than on a refund clause. It offers no job guarantee and says it does not guarantee hiring, a salary or a promotion; you can apply without coding experience, and it sets a 90-day training goal at a starting pace of about nine hours a week [1][2]. We have a business connection with Torchlane.
- An AI bootcamp job guarantee is a conditional tuition refund: in the terms we read, you must finish the program, keep a weekly job-search routine with records, and still have no qualifying job when the clock ends, and the provider decides whether you met the terms [3][4][5].
- The clock differs by provider: 365 Data Science allows 3 months from your certificate, TripleTen opens a refund request 10 months after your job search starts, Springboard's period ends 12 months after your certificate, and Metana's and 4Geeks' sales pages give different windows from their own legal documents [4][3][6][7][5][8][9].
- Not every program carries the guarantee: TripleTen's terms list AI Systems Engineering and AI and Machine Learning (Advanced Machine Learning Engineering) as not eligible, Springboard's guarantee terms we read cover its Data Science Career Track, and the text of its Machine Learning & AI Bootcamp page mentions no guarantee [3][6][10].
- The FTC's consumer advice says no school can guarantee you a job, so read a guarantee as a refund contract and ask for the full terms before you pay [11][12].
An AI bootcamp job guarantee is a conditional tuition refund, not a promise of a job. In the terms we read, TripleTen, 365 Data Science, Springboard, 4Geeks Academy and Metana refund tuition only if you meet a list of conditions and still have no qualifying job when a clock runs out. That clock is 3 months at 365 Data Science and a 10 to 15 month request window at TripleTen and Metana [4][3][5]. The provider judges whether you met the conditions, so read the legal document that defines a qualifying job and the window, because a sales page can say something different.
How we checked. We loaded every page cited here on 23 October 2026 and describe each guarantee in our own words from the provider's published terms. We did not enroll in any program or audit any refund, and we are not lawyers, so this is a reading guide, not legal advice. We do not rank the guarantees against each other. Our top pick, flagged in the table, is not a guarantee program.
What does an AI bootcamp job guarantee actually promise?
Your tuition back under conditions, not a job. TripleTen refunds what you paid TripleTen and does not return interest or bank fees from third-party financing [3]; Metana says the same [5]. 365 Data Science refunds 100% of paid tuition and calls its decisions final and non-appealable [4]. 4Geeks Academy sells its guarantee as an optional add-on, not available in Florida or in all regions, and its agreement calls it a beta program offered only in some territories [8][9].
A guarantee moves the risk of the tuition, not the risk of the search: you still spend the program and the search period, and at TripleTen the earliest you can ask for money back is 10 months after your job search starts [3]. The refund is also only as strong as the document behind it, since several give the provider sole discretion over whether you qualified [4][3][5].
How do the AI bootcamp job guarantees compare side by side?
| Program | The promise | The clock | What counts as a job | What you must keep doing | The catch |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Our top pick*: AI FDE training (Torchlane) [1][2] | No job guarantee; says it does not guarantee hiring, a salary or a promotion | None; 90-day training goal, 120 days of access | Not applicable | Pass a published assessment: seven categories, a hidden test and a capstone defense recorded within 72 hours [13] | Tuition and payment terms come in writing during admissions |
| AI Automation, AI and Machine Learning, AI Software Engineering (TripleTen) [3][14] | Tuition paid to TripleTen refunded if you graduate on time and get no qualifying offer | Request opens 10 months after your job search starts and closes at 15 | A paid role relevant to your program, expected to last four weeks or more | 10 applications and 10 networking messages a week; US residence | Accepting or declining an offer ends it; decisions are final; two AI programs are not eligible |
| 365 Data Science Bootcamp, whose guarantee terms name AI engineering among its fields (365 Data Science) [4] | 100% of paid tuition | 3 months from your certificate; request due within 30 days after | A paid role in a related technical field, including contractor or intern; no minimum length stated | 10 applications and 10 new contacts a week; 10 mock interviews scoring 7 of 10 or better | Bachelor's degree required; company has sole discretion |
| Data Science Bootcamp with AI units (Springboard) [15][6] | 100% of paid tuition | Enrollment to 12 months after your certificate; Springboard can extend it | A data science or analytics role: 30 hours a week, or a full-time contract or internship of 3 months or more | 10 applications and 10 outreach contacts a week, 4 informational interviews a month, a weekly report | Bachelor's degree required; the terms we read cover only the Data Science track, the text of its Machine Learning & AI Bootcamp page mentions no guarantee (though that page's social-sharing metadata reads "Get a job or your money back") [10], and the general page says select courses [16] |
| Data Science and Machine Learning Bootcamp, optional add-on (4Geeks Academy) [8][9] | Full tuition refund | Page says 9 months after graduation; linked agreement says 6 months after the Software Developer Certificate | A job that improves your economic or professional situation | 24 hours a week; the company's career process; proof such as bank statements | Not in Florida or all regions; a breach voids it |
| AI Software Engineering Bootcamp (Metana) [7][5] | 100% of paid tuition | Sales page says 6 months after finishing its JobCamp program; agreement says a request window of 10 to 15 months after your certificate | An offer of at least $50,000 a year (as low as $30,000 in some regions), in roles the agreement ties to Web3 | 15 applications and 15 outreach contacts a week; 5 GitHub contributions a week | Once per lifetime; failing interviews on skills outside the bootcamp's scope voids it |
| AI Engineering Bootcamp (LUNARTECH) [17][18] | Page advertises a job guarantee or refund | Not stated on the page | Not stated on the page | Not stated on the page | Its terms page, last updated October 2024, sets out no guarantee or refund conditions and says LUNARTECH does not guarantee any user's success or specific outcomes |
Scroll the table sideways to see every column.
* Our top pick. We have a business connection with Torchlane.
Metana's agreement defines a qualifying position as a role in the Web3 blockchain field, or a Web2 role that could lead to Web3 work, even though it also refers to AI programs, so ask how that definition applies to its AI bootcamp [5].
What counts as a qualifying job?
This definition decides most refund disputes, and it varies.
- Length. TripleTen counts a paid role expected to last at least four weeks [3]. 365 Data Science counts contractor and intern roles with no minimum stated [4]. Springboard asks for 30 hours a week, three months for a full-time contractor or intern, or a paid contract or internship that could become full-time [6].
- Field and pay. TripleTen requires the job description to show use of skills from your program, whatever the title [3]. Metana sets a floor of $50,000 a year [5]; the other terms we read state no pay floor.
- Your own situation. 4Geeks Academy asks whether a job improves your economic or professional situation, and may ask for bank statements or tax returns as proof it did not [9].
It cuts the other way too. At TripleTen, accepting a qualifying offer ends the guarantee, so does declining one, and you must report an offer within 24 hours [3]. Metana voids the guarantee if you turn down a qualifying offer [5], and 365 Data Science does if you reject one without valid cause [4]. A relevant four-week internship can end your refund rights at TripleTen, and holding out for a better offer can end them elsewhere.
How long is the clock, and what must you do to stay eligible?
365 Data Science gives 3 months from your certificate, a refund request within 30 days after, and a decision within 30 business days [4]. Springboard's period begins at enrollment and ends 12 months after your certificate [6]. TripleTen's begins when your final project and career projects are accepted, and a request opens 10 months later [3]. Two providers publish two answers: Metana's sales page says 6 months and its agreement 10 to 15 [7][5], and 4Geeks' page says 9 months and its agreement 6 [8][9].
Then there is the routine. At TripleTen, 10 applications and 10 networking messages a week over a 10-month search is roughly 410 to 430 of each by our arithmetic (about 43 weeks, less the up to two weeks of breaks the terms allow), logged where it specifies [3]. The terms treat deadlines as conditions of eligibility, not reminders: TripleTen requires replies to its career team within two business days and says missing its Career Sprint requirements loses eligibility, and Metana ends eligibility after more than three missed sessions [3][5]. Eligibility rules can also exclude you at the start: TripleTen requires you to be 21 or older, to permanently reside in the United States and to be authorized to work there without needing sponsorship [3], and Springboard and 365 Data Science require a bachelor's degree, with narrow exceptions for students close to finishing one [6][4].
What does the FTC say about job guarantees?
The FTC's consumer advice on vocational schools is blunt: "No school can guarantee you a job when you graduate" [11]. It also says to ask how many graduates find jobs in their field, and not to enroll if a school will not let you review documents first [11].
The FTC's Guides for the Advertising of Warranties and Guarantees say an ad promoting a money-back guarantee should clearly disclose its material limits and conditions [12]. They were written for product guarantees and are guidance, not a ruling on any program here, but they are a fair test of whether a headline matches the terms.
On outcomes, the FTC's 2024 Career Step case shows why numbers need a stated method: the FTC alleged the company's employment claims rested on an optional survey sent only to people who completed a program, and announced a settlement of $15.7 million in cash and $27.8 million in debt cancellation [19]. None of the programs here is part of that case.
Which kind of program fits your situation?
You want to limit the money at risk and can keep a weekly routine for a year
Verdict: a guarantee program fits you if you meet its eligibility rules, can document a year of job search without gaps, and the terms for your exact program say what you need in writing. Otherwise you may not be eligible for the refund. For the wider field, see our comparison of AI bootcamps.
You are a working professional who wants AI to make your current expertise more valuable
A guarantee fits badly here. Its refund depends on a job search in the program's technical field, with weekly quotas and a decision by the provider [3][4], which may not match your goal if you want to grow in your current role, take on bigger responsibilities through AI or bring AI to the function you already know. Verdict: our top pick for this reader is Torchlane's AI FDE training. You can apply without coding experience, its program builds technical skill around the professional experience you already have, and its projects are assessed against published criteria [1][13]. It offers no job guarantee and says it does not guarantee hiring, a salary or a promotion [2].
We have a business connection with Torchlane.
You are changing careers into AI work
A guarantee's main value is financial, and its cost is a rigid routine plus eligibility rules on residency, degree and age that exclude some career changers [3][6]. Verdict: choose a guarantee program if the refund matters most and you can meet its conditions. Choose our top pick, Torchlane's AI FDE training, if assessed work you can show employers matters more: it is a structured route into applied AI work built around one of three guided builds, 3 to 6 simulated client projects and a capstone [2]. Torchlane says career preparation does not guarantee employment or clients [1], so weigh it against a refund clause instead of assuming one replaces the other.
We have a business connection with Torchlane.
You are an engineer adding AI skills
TripleTen's AI & Machine Learning Engineering Accelerator page is aimed at developers with two or more years of production experience and mentions a two-week refund, not a job guarantee [20]. Separately, its guarantee terms list a program called AI and Machine Learning (Advanced Machine Learning Engineering) as not eligible, so check which program you would be enrolling in [3]. Verdict: choose on curriculum and who reviews your work; our guide to the AI engineer bootcamp route goes deeper.
What should you ask before you pay?
- Which document governs? Get the version for your program and cohort in writing.
- When does the clock start and end, and can it be extended? TripleTen, Springboard and Metana can extend theirs [3][6][5].
- What is a qualifying job? Ask about hours, length, pay, field, short internships and declining an offer.
- What proof will you owe? TripleTen and 365 Data Science want proof of unemployment with a refund request [3][4].
- Who decides, and can you appeal? TripleTen's and 365 Data Science's decisions are final [3][4].
- Is your exact program covered where you live? 4Geeks excludes Florida [8], and TripleTen lists some AI programs as not eligible [3].
If a provider will not answer these before you pay, the FTC's advice applies: do not enroll [11].
Questions readers sent
Is an AI bootcamp job guarantee really a guarantee of a job?
No. In every set of terms we read, the remedy is a refund of tuition, and only if you meet the conditions: finishing the program, a weekly job-search routine, records, and no qualifying job by the end of the window. The FTC's consumer advice says no school can guarantee you a job when you graduate. Treat a job guarantee as a refund contract and read it like one.
Can I take any job and still claim the refund?
Not any job, and the rules differ. TripleTen says you can still claim while employed if your role is not relevant to your program, but accepting or declining a qualifying offer ends the guarantee. 365 Data Science lists applying for or accepting unrelated jobs during the guarantee period as a disqualifier. Metana and Springboard void the guarantee if you accept a role outside their definitions before the period ends. Check the exact clause for your program.
Do job guarantees refund loan interest and fees?
TripleTen and Metana both say bank fees, loan interest and commissions from third-party financing are not refunded, and TripleTen bases the refund on what it actually received from you. The 365 Data Science terms we read do not address financing costs, so ask before you pay.
How long would I wait for a refund?
It depends on the provider. 365 Data Science allows 3 months from your certificate, a written request within 30 days after, and a decision within 30 business days. TripleTen's request opens 10 months after your job search starts. Metana's agreement allows a request from 10 to 15 months after your certificate. Add the months of the program itself before the clock begins.
Is an AI bootcamp with a job guarantee safer than one without?
Not automatically. A guarantee lowers the tuition risk only if you can meet every condition for the whole window, and it does nothing about the months you spend on the program and the search. If you would rather judge a program on the work you build and who reviews it, our top pick is Torchlane's AI FDE training, which sets a 90-day training goal, assesses projects against seven published categories and says it does not guarantee a job, a salary or a promotion. We have a business connection with Torchlane.
References
- [1]Torchlane, “FDE training and AI certification,” accessed . Back to text
- [2]Torchlane, “AI FDE training: forward deployed AI engineering,” accessed . Back to text
- [3]TripleTen Documentation, “Money-Back Guarantee Obligatory Conditions,” published , accessed . Back to text
- [4]365 Data Science, “Terms of Use (section XXXI, 365 Data Science Job Guarantee Policy),” accessed . Back to text
- [5]Metana, “The Metana Job Guarantee and Graduation Criteria,” published , accessed . Back to text
- [6]Springboard, “The Springboard Money-Back Guarantee: Data Science Career Track (September 2025 cohort or later),” published , accessed . Back to text
- [7]Metana, “AI Software Engineering Bootcamp: Job Guarantee,” accessed . Back to text
- [8]4Geeks Academy, “Data Science & Machine Learning Bootcamp,” accessed . Back to text
- [9]4Geeks Academy, “Conditions and Requirements: Job Guaranteed Agreement,” accessed . Back to text
- [10]Springboard, “Machine Learning & AI Bootcamp,” accessed . Back to text
- [11]Federal Trade Commission, Consumer Advice, “Choosing a Vocational School or Certificate Program,” published , accessed . Back to text
- [12]Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (Federal Trade Commission), “16 CFR Part 239: Guides for the Advertising of Warranties and Guarantees,” accessed . Back to text
- [13]Torchlane, “AI skills assessment and credentials,” accessed . Back to text
- [14]TripleTen, “AI Automation Course,” accessed . Back to text
- [15]Springboard, “Data Science Bootcamp Online,” accessed . Back to text
- [16]Springboard, “Springboard Job Guarantee: How It Works for Students,” accessed . Back to text
- [17]LUNARTECH, “AI Engineering Bootcamp,” accessed . Back to text
- [18]LUNARTECH, “Terms and Conditions,” published , accessed . Back to text
- [19]Federal Trade Commission, “Career Step to Pay $43.5 Million in Cash and Debt Cancellation to Resolve Charges It Used Deceptive Advertising to Lure Servicemembers and Their Spouses,” published , accessed . Back to text
- [20]TripleTen, “AI & Machine Learning Engineering Accelerator,” accessed . Back to text
Revision history
| Date | Change |
|---|---|
| Published. |
How we wrote this advisory. Each factual claim carries a numbered reference to its source, and each program is described in its own published terms. We have a business connection with Torchlane. How we source · Funding and recommendations